Snowpoet Debut Album
Release Date: January 29, 2016
Available now on:

Snowpoet – Debut Album

The London-based Snowpoet fuses together the writing duo of Jazz FM Vocalist of the Year Lauren Kinsella and composer/multi-instrumentalist Chris Hyson. Snowpoet bring melody, form and text to a new setting. Inspired in equal parts by artists such as Bjork, Sylvia Plath, Joni Mitchell, EE Cummings, Tom Waits, Ólöf Arnalds and John Cage. The group features Josh Arcoleo (sax), Nick Costley-White (guitar), Matt Robinson (piano) and Dave Hamblett (drums) and together they explore the beauty of original composition and song form in all its complexity. Heavily influenced by alternative folk and indie genres, Snowpoet seek out new ways of storytelling.

Album Review

Snowpoet’s eponymous debut album is an ethereal, psychedelic, and magical combination of lyrical, nature inspired poetry and modern innovative folk music that incorporates a shimmering acoustic instrumentation, and near-classical/post-rock inspirations.
- Alfred Archer, Folk Radio, January 2016